Doodlebug Fairy Tale Part 10

13 Jun

Today is the final post in my little series using only three products from the Doodlebug Fairy Tale collection.
I found a fun tutorial on YouTube by AFarmhouseFull on creating little mini books using copy paper, construction paper, washi, and a stapler.  Immediately afterwards, we made our first set.  SO fun and easy!  I especially love that there are no exposed staples on the outside or inside of the book with this method, which is fantastic, because my kids tend to pick at the staples and poke themselves.
I will warn that some washi tapes don’t stick extremely well to construction paper.  She recommends using duct tape as well, but we didn’t have any, so we used washi and I simply applied clear packing tape over the washi tape to keep it stuck down.  My kids also had fun adding their initials to the front covers.  Here some examples of just some of the books they made over several days:
IMG_3739.JPG
Pardon all the wrinkles and creases-I did not take pictures of the books before they became well loved by the kiddos.  🙂
So far, we are using these books for drawing lessons (you will see a post soon on this), a place to keep printed perler patterns, and as coloring books.  I am sure we will find even more uses for these once school starts back up in the fall.
This was a really fun project, and a great way to use up some of my washi-I will never run out, but this helped put a dent into it at least!  And, it definitely depleted much of the rainbow tape, which was the plan.
So, that’s it for my Doodlebug projects.  I used the entire sheet of paper, all the stickers (except three that I accidentally ruined by trying to move them one too many times), and this is what I have left on the washi roll:
IMG_3653.JPG
I was also able to use an entire package of KI Icicle Stars, and most of a sheet of Pink Paislee cardstock stickers, so that was a bonus!
I will definitely be doing something like this again.  It is always amazing how much more creative I can be with limited supplies, and I love the satisfaction of using things up.  Also, I really have to say I got my fill of this collection with only the three products.  I didn’t NEED the whole collection to have fun with it.
I hope you enjoyed this series, and look for more posts from me soon!  Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

