Card Monday-Gelli Plate Print

15 May

Today’s card is totally different from anything I have ever made.  And that, is because I bought a Gelli Plate!  I have been watching tons of YouTube videos, and even though I typically prefer clean and simple and not messy paint, I had to give it a try.  And, it will be fun to use with the kiddos for homeschool art as well!
I made several prints during my first session, and because it was my first time, used just some plain old copy paper.  I was totally amazed by how easy it is to make beautiful prints.  Here is the first print that I turned into a card:
IMG_3594.JPG
Pretty crazy, right?  There are just so many layers.  Very cool.  Anyway, I had to cut down the print to fit my card base, and just couldn’t throw the strips away.  I remembered I had some Mama Elephant pandas already stamped and cut, so I turned the extra strips into bamboo with a black pen, and stacked the pandas up on top.  I stamped Congrats and the arrows using some Studio Calico stamps and stamped them multiple times without re-inking to make some look like they were faded into the background as additional layers.
I should also mention I used three colors of Dylusions paint on the print-Lemon Zest, Vibrant Turquoise, and Bubblegum Pink.  The stencil was from my stash-it doesn’t have a label, but I am pretty sure it is Jenni Bowlin.
So, there you go!  Definitely something different from me, but it was fun to play around and come up with something completely out of my typical style.  🙂

Leave a Reply

