Pinterest Thursday-Oven Fruit Roll-Ups

12 Jan

I tried a recipe I have been eyeing for quite some time-making fruit roll-ups on a Silpat in the oven.  I had been very curious about these ever since my dehydrator bit the dust, and since I had a Silpat, I thought-why not give them a try?
You just need one ingredient to make  applesauce fruit roll-ups -- and I bet you can guess what it is! This is seriously the easiest snack ever to make, and my kiddos gobble these up! Perfect for school lunches, you can make a big batch and store in an airtight container until you need them. Applesauce Fruit Roll-Ups Here's what you need to make applesauce fruit roll-ups: Applesauce Parchment paper Silpat (optional, but makes it *so* much easier) Baking sheets Twine Place the silpat on your ...
pin found here (picture is not mine, but is from the pin)
Verdict: I have to say, they didn’t quite turn out as well as I would have liked.  I am not sure if I should have let them bake a while longer, or what?  I left them in the oven for eight hours, so that is quite a while, and still only about half the pan was hardened up enough to use.  I do think I am going to try this again and maybe use less applesauce, or turn the temp up just a bit because they are easy, and I like how the good half turned out.  And, because these are so much better for you than the store-bought kind filled with preservatives, etc.
I did add some cinnamon to my unsweetened applesauce, but otherwise I followed the recipe.  There are several more pins I found with different flavors, so if I can get these to turn out right, I will have to try some of those too!
If you have tried these, let me know how they turned out-I would love to know!

Leave a Reply

