Nearly Free #1-Sticker Magnets

7 Jan

So, I thought I would start a new Saturday series on the blog.  My goal is to add at least one new post a month to this series, but we will just see how it goes.  🙂

I have a real passion for making, buying, or learning new things for either free, or nearly free.  And, I thought it might be fun to share some of my ideas.

The projects and supplies will span everything from crafting to schooling and beyond, but hopefully you will be able to find something that interests you!

Today’s project is something I made for The Boy’s room.  I had been wanting to get him some Star Wars magnets for his magnetic wall. When I saw him playing with some stickers he got for Christmas, I suddenly remembered some magnetic sheet scraps someone had given me years ago.

I simply stuck the stickers to the magnetic sheets, trimmed around them, and voila-lots of fun Star Wars magnets!  This project was free, very simple, and took less than half an hour to create a whole bunch.
img_3243
Ideas: Do you have any thin old magnets you don’t use anymore-ones that came in the mail, or someone gave you?  You don’t have to have leftover magnetic sheets like I do-these would work as well.  Stick your sticker to the magnet, and trim around the edges.

Just make sure that your stickers are not transparent if your magnet already has a design on it, or it might show through.  If your stickers are transparent, you can stick them to a piece of white paper, adhere the paper to the magnet and then trim.

Don’t have any stickers you want to use?  Check out the dollar store!  Or, try searching online, printing small pictures onto card stock, and adding them to the magnets.  If you have a laminator, you could also laminate the pictures before adhering them to the magnets for extra durability.

So there you go-my first Nearly Free post. I hope you liked it, and stay tuned for more!  🙂

Leave a Reply

