Christmas Card 47

22 Dec

The last three cards I am going to share this year are the ones for my kids.

I decided to make some interactive cards, which is a new thing for me, but I really wanted to make their cards special.

My boys fell in love with the yeti stamp set from MFT after seeing this video, so I thought I would try to make something similar for them.  I used quite a few cut files from Lori Whitlock, as well as a few dies from MFT and Lawn Fawn, and I really like how everything turned out.

Here is the first card:
img_3147
img_3151
img_3149
Supplies: Card Stock: MFT (Snow Cone), Studio Calico (Gray), Recollections (White), Unknown (Green); Stamps (MFT, Hero Arts); Dies: MFT, Lawn Fawn; Cut Files: Lori Whitlock; Spinner Discs: MFT; Markers: Spectrum Noir, Sharpie, Copic, Wink of Stella; Other: Foam Tape

To make this card, I used the slice tool in the Silhouette software to cut away the frame surrounding the larger set of mountains from the 5×7 shadow box card deer mountains design #106834 cut file.  I cut them from gray, and and then using the slice tool again, I cut just the tips of the mountains from white and made notches with my scissors to make them look like snow.

For my next layer, I cut the slit for my slider using the a2 penny slider card design #42686 cut file, and then I cut the top of the layer using my Lawn Fawn tree border die.  Finally, I cut out the trees #23138 cut file with green, and white for the snow tips (I chose not to cut the tree trunks or snow.)

To make the pull tab, I welded a rectangle and a circle together in the Silhouette software, and cut it out.  I mounted the top layer with foam tape, leaving a channel for the pull tab to move in and out of.

To make the trees stand up, I used MFT spinner discs adhered under the trees on three sides-leaving one side open for my yeti to slide in and out of.  I mounted the yeti in the slider channel using two layers of foam tape.  I covered the mountain and tree tops with Wink of Stella, as well as the scarf and lights on the yeti.  And finally, I stamped my sentiment at the top.

This card was a real labor of love, so I hope you enjoyed it-I know The Little Guy is going to love it.  Stay tuned-tomorrow I will share the card I made for The Boy.

I am entering this card into the following challenges:
Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge #312
Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge 2 December Extra Challenge
Christmas Card Challenges #2
Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Make It Sparkle:
Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

4 Responses to “Christmas Card 47”

  1. teresa kline December 27, 2016 at 12:46 PM #

    hello! this is adorable, luv the pull card, so fun! I am so glad you played along with us at simon says stamp wednesday challenge!

    blog-paperie blooms
    ig-2klines

    sparkle & shine, kindness *~*

  2. laurie December 28, 2016 at 2:39 PM #

    Adorable winter scene!Thanks for joining us at the Christmas card Challenges!

  3. Debbie December 28, 2016 at 9:17 PM #

    Very cute!!
    Thanks for playing along at Christmas Card Challenges!!
    Debbie (CCC DT)
    Debbie’s Dash of This and That

  4. Suze December 31, 2016 at 4:05 PM #

    Great slider card. Thank you for joining in the Anything Christmas challenge at CHNC Extra for December.

Leave a Reply

