Book Review-Silly Sentences

19 Nov


Letter Sounds Silly Sentences by Rock N Learn is a book that practices early phonics skills, and is geared towards children ages 1-5.  There are twenty-six pages that each contain a silly sentence focusing on a single letter of the alphabet, as well as a final page containing the entire alphabet for practicing the sounds every letter makes.  Children are directed to listen carefully as the sentence is read, and pick the letter sound they hear the most.
My Thoughts:  I have to admit, when I received this book, I thought it would be way too hard for my three year old.  I was so very wrong.  I was completely surprised with how easily he was able to pick out the correct letters a majority of the time.  I love the options this book gives the parent too-it can be used to familiarize children with sounds, practice and recognize those sounds over time, is a great confidence booster for young learners, and is a fun read besides with all the silly sentences.  This is a wonderful book for early learners, and I especially recommend it for two-three year olds to help them get used to hearing letter sounds.  I also found this book to be a fun early reader for my six year old.  The pictures are a great aid for figuring out many of the words that might be above a first grader’s comprehension.  Overall, this is a great pick for young children, and would even make a great gift!
A big thank you to Academics’ Choice for providing me with a copy of this wonderful book!

Leave a Reply

