Homeschool Curriculum Pt. 2-History

13 Aug

So, last week I listed our curriculum for Geography, and today it’s History!

Last year, I got a BJU textbook for 3rd grade.  There was nothing wrong with it, but we got about 15 pages in, and that was it.  I learned my lesson-it has be something I as the TEACHER want to do too, or it will just get glossed over in favor of other subjects.

This year, I decided we would try something a little more interactive.  I had purchased a digital bundle online, and it included the first half of Mystery of History on audio.  After listening to some of it, I was intrigued.  I watched a bunch of YouTube videos, and it sounded like fun.  So, Mystery of History is what we are going with this year.

I purchased the book (it is HUGE!):

And the following supplemental materials:

I have to admit, that even though I LIKE it, it is quite a bit of material.  We made it through most of week one, and that is it so far.  The Girlio likes it, but it is just a lot of prep work if you want to do it all.  I think I need to cut back on how many of the projects we do, and maybe it won’t seem so overwhelming.  It’s good stuff, but it took HOURS to prep even to just start, and requires lots of materials if you want to do all the projects.  So, not so sure on this one.

I don’t know why History seems to be hard for me to teach.  I really like History, it just seems like a lot of work to teach!

Leave a Reply

