Homeschool Curriculum Pt. 1-Geography

6 Aug

I thought it might be kind of fun to share the curriculum we are using for homeschool this year.

So today, I am kicking off a Saturday Homeschool Curriculum series and we are going to start by sharing our Geography curriculum.

The first thing I wanted to make sure I picked was something to work on map skills as we tested lower than I would have liked last year.  So, I picked up this workbook:

So far, we really like it, and I think it is completing its purpose.  I like that it is for multiple years too.

We are also watching season 2 of Carmen Sandiego:
Where on Earth is Carmen Sandiego? - The Complete Series
We watched season 1 last year.  I think it is a great introduction to different parts of the world, and is fun to watch besides!

And finally, because The Girlio LOVES anything to do with the states, we are going to start working our way through Road Trip USA by Confessions of a Homeschooler:
Road Trip USA - Download
I got the curriculum on sale-but it is extremely affordable.  The only downside is that it is digital and requires printing, and it is HUGE.  There was a lot of prep work to get it ready, but we are just finishing up our first state, and it is definitely interesting and fun.  We are going to take this at a pretty slow pace as it is just more for fun (although lots of learning is involved.)

I did purchase some of the supplemental books as well.  I have been getting some from the library, but I liked this one enough to buy a used copy on Amazon (very interesting book):

I also bought this for reference (it is recommended in the curriculum and you can get it used on Amazon as well):
National Geographic United States Atlas for Young Explorers, Third Edition
And just for fun:


I think I am going to save this last one for maybe next year, as it seems a bit advanced for her, and we have plenty of other stuff.

I also purchased a map of the United States for reference, and we will probably be doing a special project on our state as well.

So, there you have it-geography for 4th grade!

Leave a Reply

