Card Monday-A Giant Cupcake

11 Apr

A few weeks back, I shared my recent purchase of this Mama Elephant stamp set:
LITTLE EDIBLES

The main reason I bought the set (although I definitely want to pair these images with Pandamonium and Lunar Animals), was because I wanted to stamp and enlarge the images to make shaped cards-especially with that cookie!
I haven’t made it to the cookie yet, but my daughter was invited to a Shopkins-themed birthday party a few weeks ago, and for a present she chose a cupcake Shopkins set.  What was I to do but make a giant cupcake card?
IMG_2113
I am sure there is probably a better way to do this on the computer, but here is how I made this card.  First, I stamped the image.  Then, I scanned the image into my computer.  I enlarged the image by 1,200 percent.  Then, I printed a copy.  Because the image became pixelated, I used a black Sharpie to smooth out the lines.  This obviously will work best with an image that doesn’t have too many lines.
Then, I made a copy of this new image.  I printed the image on both pink and tan cardstock, cut out the pieces and adhered them together.  I created a top-folding card out of two pieces of white cardstock by creasing the top of the back piece with my bone folder, and adhering the pieces together above my crease after I had trimmed both pieces to the shape of the cupcake.  To finish off the card, I covered the top portion with Wink of Stella.
There are so many cute images in this set.  The popsicle would make a great summertime birthday invitation, the burger and hot dog are great for a BBQ invitation, and that cookie is going to be perfect for a boy birthday card.  Maybe even a girl birthday card if I add a bow.  🙂
The possibilities are endless, and I am definitely going to have fun playing around!  Hope this gives you some more ideas on how to use this stamp set!  Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

