A Spiderman Party Part 1

1 Mar

As with this year’s valentines, I MIGHT have gone a little overboard with The Boy’s birthday party this year.  He loved his Jake party so much from last year, that he was still talking about it and how he wanted games, etc. for this year-just like he had for his Jake party.  I thought “uh oh, I have set a precedent.”  🙂
I determined to just do “some” things for this year.  However, the more time I spent on Pinterest, the more ideas I got, and yeah, there you go.
The GOOD thing was that I determined to have everything completed a week in advance so that I wouldn’t get stressed, and so any ideas I had after that, I just had to let go.
Still, there is plenty to write about, so let’s jump in!
Yesterday, I shared a simple birthday card.  Today-the invitations and decorations!
For invitations, I printed this one from Pinterest:
d6682d2ab3be1d8a2d09a97041a3c879
pin found here
Great invitation, but it wasn’t until after I had printed it on white card stock, and trimmed them down, that I realized there is a spelling error (your instead of you’re)!!!!!  Argghhh!  A felt tip pen correction, and you could barely tell I fixed it.  Whew!
Next up, I made a banner for the front door.  I liked how this one looked:
325a374cb4916b4262ecf3edc18ed888
pin found here
But, I thought it might take too much ink/work to get something similar.  So, I decided to keep it simple. I found this alphabet on Pinterest:
e0af2a3d9c2a793b9ec8a80a5af42e9a
pin found here
I printed the letters onto white typing paper, cut them out, and glued them to blue card stock.  The letters were outlined with my red copic, and they got hung on the door.  Simple, and easy!
IMG_1892
Another great decoration I found was this spiderweb snowflake design:
223129de60d5c0dfc6edf570ca31070f
pin found here
I have to admit, I tried and TRIED to make these, and I kept cutting them wrong.  Fortunately, hubby to the rescue!  He was nice enough to fold them for me so that I just had to cut them.  We made close to 30 for the walls in the living room, dining room and kitchen.
Here are some shots of them up around the living room:
IMG_1888
IMG_1887
Last up for the decorations, I wanted to create a building wall like this:
9628bcd2966473d64320ab0af2e9dfd3
pin found here
I loved the look, but didn’t want to mess with paper.  My mom had a fantastic idea-a garbage bag.  I cut open a bag and used post-it notes for the windows, and voila-buildings!  They turned out so great, and someone even told me they thought I had purchased the backdrop-best compliment you can get in my opinion (after The Boy loving it, of course!)
IMG_1886
Well, there is plenty more to write about, but it will have to wait until tomorrow in Part 2!  Hope you are enjoying this so far.  🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

