Card Monday…On A Saturday :)

5 Apr

Hero Arts makes this absolutely wonderful owl stamp, and although I have used it several times, I just can’t seem to get enough of it!  And, moving kind of made me “refind” some older products, so I combined them with the stamp here on this card:
IMG_5880
Supplies: Patterned Paper: Studio Calico; Stamps: Hero Arts (owl), Paper Smooches (sentiment); Mists: Mr Huey Leaf Green, Estate Green, and Lemonade; Gem Brads: The Girls Paperie; Dots: MME; Twine: The Twinery

I actually used some patterned paper that has a different pattern in the tear off strip (the yellow part)-I just kept it on the card because I thought it went well, and I didn’t have to layer another paper.

The owl was stamped in black, and then painted in with Mr. Hueys. At first, I just painted in the leaves, but the owl wasn’t standing out very well in the background, so I gave it a wash of Lemonade Mr. Huey, and that did the trick-really makes for a neat background!

Not sure if you can tell from the picture, but if you look closely, you will see the owl’s eyes are large green gem brads.  I found them in an old Studio Calico kit.  They were the perfect size, and really added to the owl.  I also used those ever-popular dots for the first time.  I have quite a few, but was never sure what to do until I really started looking at examples on the Studio Calico message board, and it seemed the most common application was to kind of sprinkle them around on your project.  I like the overall affect.  🙂

I made this card for a friend that helped us move-Karen, you rock!  🙂

I am also submitting this card to a couple of challenges: A Blog Named Hero (building a background), and also the Oldies But Goodies Challenge at Studio Calico (that SC paper, those brads (Pink Lemonade SC kit), and those dots (Poodle Skirt SC kit)have been around a while!)

 

One Response to “Card Monday…On A Saturday :)”

  1. Tanja April 6, 2014 at 4:20 PM #

    Thank you for joining us at ABNH ‘Build a Background’ Challenge with your awesome Card. I can’t get enough of this owl image, too.

Leave a Reply

