Book Review-Where Courage Calls

4 Mar

18652829

Where Courage Calls by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan is the story of Beth Thatcher, a wealthy young woman who despite all her luxuries and privileges, wants only to follow God’s will and become a teacher.  When she is assigned to teach for one year in the remote mining town of Coal Valley, she is little prepared for just how rustic the conditions are.  But, she throws herself wholeheartedly into the task of teaching the children, and doing what she can to help the town.  Will Beth’s efforts be thwarted by a sinister scheme?  What is so dangerous out in the woods that has the children so afraid?  Can her new friends help save Coal Valley?

My thoughts: OK, I am just going to say it.  I am a pretty picky book reader.  Most books are just OK, or I would have changed a few things, or I don’t even like them.  For this book though, I absolutely loved it.  The characters are vivid, interesting, and fun to read about.  The story line is very good, and keeps you guessing as to what will happen next.  It has a good mix of adventure, and a little romance.  And, I actually forgot to go to bed I was so into reading it, and I guess that says it all because that is the sign of a good book!  🙂

All in all, I would definitely recommend this book-especially if you are a fan of Janette Oke, or really any type of pioneer story.  There is a book that comes before this one, but you don’t need to read it first.  This book stands alone, and only mentions the character from the first book.  There is also a companion TV series called When Calls The Heart on the Hallmark Channel.  I have not seen the program, but I prefer to read books anyway.

As always, my thanks to Bethany House for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book to review!

Leave a Reply

