Book Review-Fired Up

12 Nov

firedup_lrg

Fired Up by Mary Connealy is the second book in the Trouble in Texas series.  This book focusses on the characters Glynna Greer and Dare Riker from the first book.  Glynna, newly freed from her abusive husband, is attempting to start a new life with her two children by opening up a diner-even though she can’t cook.  Dare, plagued with doubts about his doctoring skills, is trying to leave medicine behind-only medicine keeps pulling him back in as various tragedies hit their community.  Will Glynna manage a new start, will Dare give up being a doctor, and do either of them have a chance at love?  And, who is trying to kill Dare-is it Glynna’s angry son, or someone from the past?

My Thoughts: I really enjoyed the first book in this series-Swept Away.  This one-not so much.  It is just that I don’t like the main character Glynna.  The first half of the book spends most of its time pointing out all her flaws to the point that I want to say-how is anyone going to fall for this gal?  The only thing she seemed to have going for her was that she was really pretty.  Not sure how that cuts it in the tough life of the wild west.  The second half of the book got better because it focussed more on Dare and the mystery of who was trying to kill him.  I really liked the dynamic between Dare and his friends, and how they worked together to track down the culprit.  The love story part was really ruined for me though, because I just couldn’t see what Dare saw in Glynna.  The book also leans a little more towards a romance novel in spots-which isn’t my favorite.  All in all, it is well-written, has an interesting plot, but I wish there had been a stronger female character.

I am still interested in the series and other characters, and I am sure I will read the next book, but this one wasn’t a keeper for me.

As always, I thank Bethany House for the complimentary copy of this book for my unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

