Book Review-Stranded

22 Oct

stranded

Stranded by Dani Pettrey is the third book in the Alaskan Courage series.  It continues the story of the McKenna family and brings back Darcy St. James from book #2.  Darcy used to be an investigative reporter, and when her old partner Abby begs for her help while investigating a story on a cruise ship, Darcy agrees.  When Darcy arrives on the ship however, she finds that Abby has disappeared.  Desperate to find her friend, she begins to investigate Abby’s story in hopes of discovering the truth.  With Gage McKenna’s help, she discovers a dark secret that could land her in the same trouble as Abby.  Who can she trust?  And where is Abby?

My opinion:  I have read all three of the Alaskan Courage series, and this one wasn’t my favorite.  It is OK, but I guess I couldn’t really get into the characters, and the plot didn’t interested me as much as the first book.  I think the book is well-written, but I might be a little spoiled by reading Dee Henderson books-this book (and really the series) feels like it is trying to copy some of the aspects of Dee’s books (the series follows orphaned brothers and sisters and the name of Darcy St. James is a character in one of Dee’s books as well), and it just doesn’t quite hit the mark for me.  Bottom line: It is an interesting read, but not a keeper.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House for my honest opinion, and I thank them very much!

 

Leave a Reply

