Pinterest Thursday-Painting With Acrylic Paint

23 May

One of my goals for 2013 is to try making crafts with mediums I haven’t really tried before-you know, get out of my comfort zone a bit.

My mom had found a large canvas that someone was throwing away, and was looking for good ideas on painting over it with her own art.  So, what was I to do but pull up Pinterest?  🙂

After looking at several examples, I happened upon a tutorial, and right then and there my mom pulled out some acrylic paints and mini canvasses so that we could try it.

06d42ea29a9b3f9ee23f214b7355b302

pin found here

Looks pretty easy, right?  Well, it really was!  I do not claim to be a painter in any way (mostly because I have a problem drawing/painting dimensionally) but I still think it didn’t turn out that bad.  I used the technique shown above on the water, and then kind of dabbed the top to get a softer look.

IMG_3138

You can’t tell from the picture, but I did paint the picture over onto the sides too.  I like how the water turned out, but I wasn’t super thrilled on how the top turned out.  Oh well-not bad for a first try, right?  At least I can say I tried something new!  🙂

One Response to “Pinterest Thursday-Painting With Acrylic Paint”

  1. Anne S May 28, 2013 at 4:06 PM #

    Next time you’re in Lincoln, look up ‘Paint Yourself Silly’. It’s a painting studio, where they lead you through painting on a canvas. It’s pretty dang fun! I’ve done it several times with some friends when I’ve been back in town. They have/had something similar here in Wichita, but it either closed or moved. SO MUCH FUN for a girls night out 🙂

Leave a Reply

