Guest Designer Post #1-Printers Tray

16 Nov

Today I want to show you a project that is very different for me-an altered tray!

This was the first project I created for my guest designing spot at my local scrapbook store-Simple Pleasures.

My supply list included:

Gorgeous papers from the Echo Park This and That Graceful collection:

THG27016_Collection_Kit_F-300x300

A Maya Road tray:

mm1622

I also received the following die sets, some gems, and some felt.

Sizzix Sizzlits Die Set 3PK – Card Phrases Set #2

medium_657523

Sizzix Sizzlits Tim Holtz Decorative Strip Alphabet Die – Inside Out

657827_1

Before I share the project I came up with, a little background.  I have a little game I like to play with The Girlio.  One of us says “I love you”, then the other says, “I love you more”, and then the first person says “I love you most”.  The person who says “I love you most” wins, so it’s important to start, so you can be the one that wins.  🙂  Anyway, I wanted to document this in some way, and when I saw the papers in this Echo Park collection, I knew I had the perfect pictures to use for this project!

Here are the steps I used to create this tray:

1.  Pick three pictures and three coordinating papers (I used the B sides of Lace, Quilt, and Border Strips.)

2. Using a paper trimmer, cut the sayings out of the Border Strips paper, as well as three pieces of the banner-leaving the black “string” of the banner intact.

3. Trim the papers and pictures-trimming each piece slightly larger than the chipboard cards that are included with the tray.  Adhere each piece into the openings of the tray.

4.  Trim and adhere the sayings from the Border Strips paper to the cross pieces, or bottoms of each section.
IMG_1542.JPG

5.  Using the Sizzix card phrases set, die cut three of each of the following: I, you, and the hearts from red felt.

6.  Using the Tim Holtz Inside Out alphabet die, cut the letters needed to spell Most from white felt.

7. Using your die cut machine, cut the word More from the mint side of the DkPink Mint Solid paper.  I used my Silhouette, Bebas font, 1.145 inches tall, 1.305 inches wide.

8. Die cut flowers from the Flower Vine paper.  I used the Rolled Rose file by Silhouette, a 3d flower file by Lori Whitlock, and a free file from Bird Cards called Rolled Flower 2 which can be found here.  I also freehand cut some flowers.  The easiest way to do this is to cut a rough circle.  Then cut that circle into a spiral, leaving a tab or circular spot in the center.  Starting with the outside edge of the spiral, curl it in a tight circle.  Continue to wind the spiral around and around that tight circle until you get to the tab.  For a loose flower, let go of the spiral and let it uncurl a bit.  For a tight flower, don’t let go.  Apply adhesive to the tab, and press the spiral down onto the tab.
IMG_1561.JPG
IMG_1568.JPG

9.  Adhere the flowers and felt letters into the various openings in the tray.  Adhere some of the tighter flowers inside the loose ones.

10.  Adhere the banner to the corner of the bottom opening.

11.  Finish off with some gems.

IMG_1547.JPG
So-there you have it-my first printers tray!  It definitely took some time to create, but I LOVE the result and the gorgeous products I got to work with.  Thanks Cathy!  🙂

Leave a Reply

