Book Review-The Deposit Slip

11 Oct

I am interrupting my card show and tell to bring you a quick book review.  More cards tomorrow, I promise.  🙂

I recently finished reading The Deposit Slip by Todd M. Johnson.

Book Summary: This courtroom drama centers around Erin Larson-who recently lost her estranged father.  As she goes through his estate, she finds a deposit slip made out to the local bank in the amount of ten million dollars.  The bank claims the deposit slip is a fake, but determined to find out more about her father’s life, she hires an attorney to investigate.  Threats, lies, and rumors not only threaten Erin’s life, but drive multiple attorneys and investigators away.

Finally, she finds an attorney that is willing to take on the case no matter the cost-Jared Neaton.  Together, they, along with Jared’s assistant and friends, work to piece together what happened-and determine once and for all the truth about the deposit slip.

My Take: You know, I love a good courtroom drama, but I have to admit, I was quite disappointed with this one.  I thought the idea was good, and I liked the characters (both the good, and the bad ones), but the pace of the book wasn’t great.  The first 300 pages focused on how impossible the case was-to the point that I was getting bored, and really just wanted to get to what was going to happen!  Finally, things started to happen, and it was almost like an afterthought to the rest of the story.  It seemed a quick summary to try and tie things up super fast and be done.  I would have loved to have had that part of the book drawn out a little more and taken more time to get to the conclusion.  Also, for being a courtroom drama (at least that was what I thought it would be), there was very little time actually spent in the courtroom, which was kind of a bummer for me too.

So, my bottom line for this book-good story idea, good characters-but kind of a snoozer until after page 300.  Maybe skip this one.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House for my unbiased opinion.

Leave a Reply

