Book Review-Submerged

1 Sep

Bethany House recently sent me a copy of the book Submerged by Dani Pettrey.  The story is the first in the Alaskan Courage series, and revolves around a character named Bailey.  Forced to return to her hometown of Yancey, Alaska, Bailey is immediately surrounded by bad memories from the past.  She had sworn never to return, ashamed of her actions as a youth, and had worked hard to remove herself from anything that reminded her of home.  Arriving back in Yancey not only resurfaces her emotional ties to the past, but quickly embroils her in a mystery far beyond anything she could have ever expected.

Submerged is full of suspense, action, interesting twists and turns, romance, and most importantly weaves throughout the story a theme of the power of forgiveness and redemption.

I really enjoyed this book.  It is definitely a quick read-I finished my copy in less than 24 hours.  The main characters were well-developed, the Alaskan setting and main topics including Russian history and scuba diving were unique, and the main villain was very good. I also liked that the book centers around a strong family unit.  Submerged definitely reminded me of a Dee Henderson book (my favorite author,) so that was another plus as well.

My only real criticism of this book was the fact that there were just too many characters.  I felt the author was trying to introduce the reader to the entire small town of Yancey in one book, and it just wasn’t necessary.  I found myself a little confused at times trying to remember who everyone was when several characters really weren’t that important, and could have been left for book two.

This book is definitely worth the read though if you enjoy a good suspenseful mystery with some romance thrown in, and I thank Bethany House for sending me a copy-this book is definitely one I will be keeping!

One Response to “Book Review-Submerged”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book Review-Shattered | Slow Down, Enjoy, and Create - April 3, 2013

    […] Shattered by Dani Pettrey is book two of the Alaskan Courage series.  I was fortunate enough to be able to review the first book, Submerged, and you can find that review here. […]

Leave a Reply

