My Poor Blog…..And A Card

20 Aug

So, I have STILL been sick!  Outside of a few days surrounding my birthday, I have been sick for almost 5 weeks now.  YUCK.  Hence, my poor, neglected blog.

I finally managed to make it into my craft room for a bit this past weekend though, and thought I would share a much-belated anniversary card for my brother and sister-in-law.


Supplies: Paper and Twine: My Mind’s Eye; Stamps: Lawn Fawn (Chevrons), Hero Arts (Owls and Hearts), Paper Smooches (Sentiment); Inks: Tim Holtz (Honey, Vintage Photo), Versamark, Stazon; Other: Washi Tape, Packaging

For this card, I used a couple of things I got for my birthday-a new 6×6 MME paper pad, and this awesome chevron stamp!  I stamped the chevrons with Versamark to create a faint background, and inked the edges of the blue with Honey ink, as well as inking the sentiment with Honey and a little Vintage Photo around the edges.  The sentiment was stamped on the paper insert that came with a set of Paper Smooches stamps.  Who needs cardstock?  🙂

I paper pieced the owl using this super cute owl stamp with various papers from the MME paper pad.  I haven’t done much paper piecing, but I really like how this turned out!  The washi tape was applied to a scrap of white cardstock before being adhered to the card because I wanted a brighter look to the tape, and it looked a lot darker just stuck to the blue paper.

Well, there you have it!  I am hoping to get a few more things posted this week.  We will see how I am feeling!

Oh, and I am submitting this to Stephanie Howell’s online crop challenge-add a bow to your project!

Have a great day!

2 Responses to “My Poor Blog…..And A Card”

  1. lostinpaper August 20, 2012 at 3:36 PM #

    Such a sweet design, those pp owls are adorable! They are going to love it!

  2. Stephanie Howell August 21, 2012 at 10:06 AM #

    hope you feel better soon, poor thing. 😦 the card=darling!

Leave a Reply

