June FLOA Guest Designer-Diecuts Part 1

10 Jun

So, I am very excited to start sharing some of the projects I created with the May For the Luv of Art kit!

Here is a picture of this fabulous kit:

Aren’t I a lucky duck to get to play with this?

Let me say, the pictures do not do this kit enough justice.  There are SO many fun pieces to create with-ribbons, TONS of flowers, lots of gems, and did I mention FOUR alphas?  And don’t get me started on the beautiful paper!  Let’s just say I have nine projects created so far, and have ideas for at least three more.

Another great thing about this kit-the colors.  They work great for girly projects, but also for boy projects (look for a boy layout from me later this month.)  It is a very versatile kit-I have made wedding, birthday, and baby cards as well.

Today though, I want to share with you two projects, and issue you a creative challenge.

I am a big fan of die cuts, and love to use not only the original die cut, but come up with creative uses for the leftover negative pieces as well.

My first project, is a cute little gift card holder:

For You

Step By Step

1.  Cut the basket shape using the Prima Alpha-Bytes paper and the Easter Basket Pockets Silhouette shape by Pebbles in my Pocket.  Assemble.  (If you don’t have a Silhouette, you could cut something similar by hand.)
2. Tie cream seam binding around the handle on the right-hand side, and add a flower to the center of the bow.
3.  Add letter stickers for the sentiment.
4.  Add Stickles to the center of each flower on the patterned paper.
5. Insert gift card, and give away!  🙂

For my second project, I looked at the leftover piece from the center of the basket, and it looked just like the top of an umbrella.  So, I made a baby shower card:

Welcome Baby

Step by Step

1. Cut Doodle Up paper slightly smaller than the card base, round corners of the paper and card base, and attach the patterned paper to the card base.
2. Glue twine around the outside edge of the card.  Create a twine bow and adhere to the corner where the twine ends meet (this will cover up the ends.)
3. Cut a handle for the umbrella out of the B side of the Doodle Up paper and attach it to the umbrella top.
4. Adhere the umbrella to the card base.
5. Cut the stem from a flower, and attach the flower on the right-hand side of the umbrella top.
6. Add a sentiment to the card.
7. Add Stickles to the flower, the patterned paper flowers on the umbrella top, and four dots on the umbrella handle.

So, now that you have seen my projects, I challenge you to think outside the box with your die cuts-use both the positive and negative sections in your projects.  If you take on my challenge, make sure you share a link in my comments so I can check it out!

Watch for my next guest designer post where I will show how to create cards using the pre-made die cuts included in the kit.

Don’t forget to check out the For the Luv of Art kit, and pick one up today!

One Response to “June FLOA Guest Designer-Diecuts Part 1”

  1. ellen s June 10, 2012 at 5:31 PM #

    LOOOVE these! Esp the colors…so so pretty!

Leave a Reply

