Card Monday

16 Apr

The Paper Variety challenge this time around was to make a project based off of a Paper Variety tutorial or design team project.  I chose this video by Abby.  I encourage you to watch the video-she makes a super cute card and this is such a cool technique!  Basically, she masked off the outer edges of her project, and created a scene in the middle.

Here is my take:

Supplies: Stamps: Paper Smooches; Distress Inks: Tim Holtz (Broken China, Peeled Paint); Mists: Studio Calico (Piglet, Bonny Blue, Estate Green); Ink Pad: Stazon

I actually used washi tape to mask off my border-worked a double bonus-easy to apply, and the overlapping ends stuck my project to my work surface while I inked the middle.  Just make sure to use low-tack washi tape.  The first time I tried it, I ripped the card taking the tape off.

The background was created with Distress Inks, and all of the stamped images were painted with mists.

So, there you have it-my take on the challenge!  I am also submitting this card to the Create blog challenge this week to make a spring card.

Tune in tomorrow when I will show you another card I made inspired by this video-thanks Abby!  🙂

3 Responses to “Card Monday”

  1. Caroli April 19, 2012 at 7:56 AM #

    Love the soft color and delicate lines of this card! great job!
    Thank you for playing along with us at The Paper Variety 🙂

  2. suzyq28024 April 22, 2012 at 8:00 AM #

    What a great card! I love how you scraplifted Abby’s masking technique. I even spy Paper Smooches stamps 🙂 Love those! Thanks for playing along with us at TPV 🙂 We miss you!

  3. Mel April 22, 2012 at 6:15 PM #

    Adorable card. Makes me want to try that technique myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

