Card Monday-A Smooches Challenge

5 Mar

Today’s card is based off of a Sparks challenge from Paper Smooches:

Here is my card:

Supplies: Paper: Crate Paper, Echo Park; Stamps: Paper Smooches; Letters: Making Memories; Inks: Studio Calico, Tim Holtz

Based off of the picture, I was inspired to use woodgrain, and make my own clock.  I decided to make a breakfast clock with the Wake Up set.  I stamped my egg with Fired Brick Distress Ink, and popped up the yolk using dimensional tape.  I added hands to the egg for the clock hands.  I stamped the sausages with Fired Brick as well to create a basic clock shape, and then colored them in with some Plum Thumb Mr. Huey.  As this is a mist, I just dumped some onto a craft sheet, and used my pen cap to color in the images-worked great.  Who says you need a paint brush?  🙂

I brushed more of the Fired Brick onto the background paper, and stamped the toast image across the back of the card (not shown.)  I trimmed the card into kind of a grandfather clock shape, and there you have it.  I love that the Crate Paper woodgrain paper has some distressing to it too in the same red color as the inks I used-perfect.

Unconventional, but fun.  That’s what I love about challenges-time to break out of the box!  🙂

2 Responses to “Card Monday-A Smooches Challenge”

  1. Lori Barnett March 7, 2012 at 9:33 PM #

    This really made me smile 🙂 What a fun take on the challenge! Thanks for playing the challenge with us…AND for using those PS Stamps!

  2. Jay Gee March 7, 2012 at 11:06 PM #

    LOL, how cute using the egg for the hands of the clock! Great take on the challenge. Thanks so much for joining us at Paper Smooches SPARKS challenge 🙂

Leave a Reply

