Project Life-My Introduction

11 Feb

You might remember that at the end of last year I said that I was going to be doing Project Life for the first time in 2012.  Well, I have been working on it and thought I would start sharing some of my process here.

Today, I want to share how I started, and the products I have chosen to use.

Because I already know this is going to be a ridiculously long post, I will start sharing some pages next Saturday.  🙂

First off, I really wanted to make sure I was able to follow through with this project, so I set some parameters:

1.  I wasn’t necessarily going to do a two-page spread (as I have seen many people do) every week.  And, as you will see, some weeks only have one page, and I have a few that have three.
2. I wasn’t even going to freak out if I didn’t do a page for a given week.  Things happen.  This is not a project to stress about.  Anything I do, is better than nothing.
3. I was going to start when I wanted to-December 2011.  I really wanted to document the last two weeks of December, so I started there.
4.  I was going to work on using up my stash.
5.  I was going to HAVE FUN!  🙂

I started out by reading tons of information online-including all of the information contained in this post on Becky Higgins blog.  I especially liked Michelle Wooderson and Ali Edwards’ ideas.  I think one of the biggest things I came away with was to make sure that my Project Life is accessible-not shoved away somewhere, but out, and ready to put together!

Since I just moved my scrap room to the basement at the beginning of the year, I factored Project Life in to where I put things.  I took the top of one of my storage units, and left it just for my supplies.  I took a painted box I received for being in a wedding YEARS ago, and put all my 6×6 paper pads, stamps, Smash journaling supplies, and my printed and cut journaling cards into it.  I used some oversized glass votive candle holders I already had and filled them with the embellishments (die cuts and misc. scrapbook items) I plan to use in my album, and placed the holders next to the box.  My album sits on a nearby shelf.  Everything accessible, and ready to go!

Supplies:

Project Life Supplies
I did buy the Clementine binder:

I saw that a lot of people were using the A page protectors, but I do take a lot of vertical photos, so I purchased both A and G protectors.

Glad I did it before they all sold out!  I think when everything comes back into stock, I might consider picking up a pack that contains several different designs-just to give myself some options.  Maybe some of the grid journaling cards too.

Paper
I decided to use Echo Park paper.  I am using a different line for each month-Season’s Greetings for December, Times and Seasons for January, etc.  Since it is my favorite company, I have plenty to last me, that’s for sure!  I will probably include paper from other companies every once in a while, but mainly Echo Park.

Stamps:
I am using some amazing stamp sets by Ali Edwards:

And I used this one for my December pages:

I also have this set coming to me from Studio Calico-hopefully soon!

I am really loving stamping words onto patterned paper, and then embossing them in white-looks really cool!

Journaling Cards
I picked up these from Robyn Meierotto at Design House Digital:

I have been a fan of Liz Tamanaha of Paislee Press for a very long time, and I picked up these from her:

LOVE these!!!

I just downloaded these free ones from Cathy Zielske (but haven’t used them yet):

And, I am eyeing these from Designer Digitals:

You can cut these with your Silhouette even-HAVE to figure out how to do this-the possibilities on this are too cool!
Also eyeing these:

Embellishments:
I filled my large candle votive holders with:
-wood veneer from Studio Calico-can’t get enough of this stuff.  I have butterflies, buttons, and asterisks-loving the asterisks SO much right now!
-doilies from Lori Whitlock’s 3 doily set Silhouette file.  I cut them in varying sizes, and in kraft, white, and gray.
-twine-all different kinds
-tape-washi and fabric varieties
I find myself reaching for these frequently, so this was a convenient way to handle the storage.

Oh, and I also have a sandwich bag full of die cuts in my box inspired by this post from Lisa Truesdell.  I cut several different phrases in gray and white, and they are ready to go whenever the mood strikes.  🙂

I am really glad I took the time to read a lot about Project Life, as well as organize and prepare all of my supplies before I started.  I really believe this has helped me keep up with the project!

Oh, and not that any of you are surprised, but I also have a Pinterest board dedicated to Project Life.  🙂

There you have it-my ridiculously long post!  Next weekend I will share all of my December pages.

Have a great day!

One Response to “Project Life-My Introduction”

  1. annestephens February 13, 2012 at 8:09 AM #

    Congrats on getting started with Project Life AND having a great place to store all the stuff you want to incorporate into it! You’ll be surprised, but I actually did some stamping yesterday! Made three little treat boxes for valentine’s day, and started to make tags to accompany them. Will likely finish them tonight. I should take a pic and post it on my blog when I’m done with them.

Leave a Reply

