Design Team Application Part 3

7 Feb

Today is the last day of sharing the projects I submitted for my design team application for Simple Pleasures (my local scrapbook store.)

First up, my layout.

A Perfect Snow Day

I was determined to use this paper from Little Yellow Bicycle:

I thought about cutting out some words and adding them to my layout, but then I decided to use the striped B side instead.  I had some fun pictures from a recent snow day here, so I decided to make a winter layout.  The stripes needed some color, so I used my Tattered Angels snowflake stencils (purchased at Simple Pleasures), and several of my Studio Calico mists in the colors Dewey, Bluegrass, and Lunch Tray.  After the background dried, I added American Crafts Thickers from my stash, as well as some of the brand-new Dear Lizzy collection (the tag and letter stickers), to create the rest of the layout.  I also used a Technique Tuesday stamp on the journaling tag.

It is amazing what a little mist can do to patterned paper, isn’t it?  🙂

Finally, here is my altered project.  The requirements for this project included step-by-step instructions (with pictures,) so I will include those here.  You could use whatever you wanted to create your altered project-the supplies did not have to be from the kit-but I chose to use the kit instead.  All of the patterned papers on this project come from the kit.  Here is my project:

Dream Altered Project
Supplies needed:
piece of 12×12 chipboard
2 sheets of coordinating patterned papers (Cosmo Cricket Joyride)
Claudia Hellmuth gesso
Ranger scraper tool
Paper Shapers butterfly punch
Silhouette diecut machine
Step 1: Punch 18 butterflies-9 from each piece of patterned paper.
Step 2: Cut two strips approximately 1/4 inch thick and 12 inches long from each piece of patterned paper.

Step 3: Die cut the letters for the word DREAM out of the patterned paper.  Alternate so that D, E, M are cut out of one paper, and the R and A are cut out of the other.  If you do not have a die cut machine, large chipboard letters or sticker letters will also work.  The letters should be approximately 4 inches in height.  On this project, the letters were cut with a Silhouette machine, are 3.765 inches tall, and the font is Bebas.
Step 4: Die cut the following quote from Eleanor Roosevelt out of one of your sheets of patterned paper: “the future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.”  These letters should be approximately one inch tall (this project used a Silhouette and the Pacifico font.)
Step 5: Paint the chipboard using gesso.  To do this, apply the gesso to the chipboard and spread it using a scraper tool.  An old credit card will also work for this step.  You can use a paint brush to add more texture in certain areas.  Add coats until you get the texture you like.

While the gesso is still wet, complete steps 6-8.
Step 6: Take the strips you cut in step 2, and place them on the edges of the chipboard to create a border.  Adhesive is not needed as the gesso will hold them in place.
Step 7: Lay down the butterflies-alternating between the two types of patterned paper.  Create three rows of six butterflies each across the center of the layout.  Leave five inches above the butterflies for the title.
Step 8: Add the title above the butterflies, and the quote below the butterflies.  If the gesso dries too much and the paper is not sticking, simply add a little more gesso to the chipboard to act as glue.

Step 9: Allow project to dry.

So, there you have it-the last of my application projects!  Hope you enjoyed looking at them as much as I enjoyed creating them!  Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

