Design Team Application Part 2-Cards

6 Feb

As I mentioned yesterday, I recently submitted an application for the Simple Pleasures design team (my local scrapbook store.)  Yesterday, I shared some 3D projects, and today I am sharing the cards I made.

Butterfly Thanks Card

For this first card, I took apart a Cosmo Cricket diecut mini book included in the kit.  It looked like this:

I cut it into pieces and used the rose-colored section for the base of my card.  I cut out a purple section and embossed it using my Sizzix.  I attached the purple to the front of my card, along with some leftover gray felt adhesive ribbon, and more of the embossed paper on top.  I used an old Making Memories rubon from my stash for the sentiment, and added it to a tag (that I cut in half) from the mini book.  I also used a swatch of metallic-looking paper from Dufex Crafts from my kit to create some butterflies with my Martha Stewart punch.  Here is the final product:

Be My Valentine Card

For this card, I used more of the green embossed paper from the kit, and the rest of the patterned paper came from the Cosmo Cricket mini album (shown above.)  I added the twine (purchased from Simple Pleasures), and some googly eyes.  The pink dots on some of the balloons and around the heart were created with Studio Calico Piglet mist.  I just twisted off the lid of the mist, put some drops on some old packaging, dipped the end of my pen into the ink, and then made the dots on the paper.  I also used the end of my pen and the ink to add some color to the words and the purple paper at the bottom of the card.  The monster was cut with my Silhouette, and the hearts were punched out with a Marvy-Uchida punch.  I mounted the hearts on dimensional adhesive, and attached the twine strings to the bottom of the hearts with glue dots.  I wanted to make a fun Valentine for a kid, and I like how it turned out-even if it looks a little more artsy/messy than I usually make projects, it sure was fun!

So, there are the cards!  Tomorrow I will share my layout and altered project.  Have a great day!  🙂

Leave a Reply

