Design Team Application Part 1

5 Feb

So, another project I have been working on is an application for my local scrapbook store’s (Simple Pleasures) design team.  I love the store, the super friendly people, and the fact that they know my name-definitely perks to a local store!  Anyway, I decided to apply for the design team, and it was a really fun challenge!  I got a packet of materials from the store, and the goal was to create as many projects as possible using the contents in the packet.  I spent a few weeks coming up with some projects, and even though I have turned everything in, I still have a few ideas swimming around in my head that I want to try with the supplies.  Hopefully, I will have some time this week to do that.

Even though you could use other embellishments, etc., I chose to stick as closely to the items in the packet as possible.  Over the next few days I am going to share with you the projects I made, and today I am going to start with the 3D items.

Baby Shoes and Card

First up, I had some green eyelet/brads from Pebbles, orange paper from American Crafts, and some dry-embossed purple and green papers.  I found this great baby shoe shape in the Silhouette store, along with a baby bottle shape, and decided to make my own pair of baby shoes and a matching card.  I added some twine I purchased from the store, and came up with this:

Super cute, right?

Flower Gift Bag

The next project was to use a very bold patterned paper from American Crafts, and some black loopy ribbon.  I used a gift bag I already had, and then used my Silhouette to create this awesome flower. I used the ribbon as the center of the flower, and also to tie a little card to the handles.

Gift Box

Next, I had some plaid paper from Daisy D’s, and some adhesive-backed gray felt ribbon-I think it is probably from Queen and Company, but not sure.

The box and banner shapes are by Lori Whitlock, and the flower shape is by Silhouette.  I used the Pacifico font to cut out “congrats” on the banner, and added an American Crafts brad to the center of my flower.  I also used some Tim Holtz vintage photo ink on the edges of the flower petals.  The flower is attached to the felt ribbon, and I adhered the ribbon to itself so it is just for decoration and can be slid off to open the box.  One of the things I like best about this box shape by Lori, is that it does not require any adhesive to put together-genius!!!

So, that’s it for the 3D projects.  What did you think?  🙂

Tomorrow, I will share with you the cards I made, and then on Tuesday, the layout and altered project!

 

Leave a Reply

