Practical Scrappers Christmas Layout

21 Dec

Today, the Practical Scrappers design team is featuring Christmas layouts!  I will confess, this is only my second ever Christmas layout.  Ever.  And I didn’t like the first one.  🙂

I must think Christmas layouts have to be “extra special” or something, because I just get this huge mental block when I even think about making a Christmas layout!

So, with great trepidation, I made this layout.  And, fortunately, I actually like this one.  🙂

First Christmas

I used Echo Park’s Season’s Greetings (paper and sticker), and the green paper is Crate Paper.  I used Vintage Photo Distress ink on the leaves and on the title and journaling.  The title was cut with my Silhouette, and the font is Adobe Caslon Pro Bold.  I also typed my journaling.  I usually don’t, as I think it is important to include my own handwriting, but after trying it handwritten, I decided I wanted a cleaner look to this particular layout.

I cut my holly leaves with a technique I learned from Jennifer McGuire.  You use a circle punch to cut the paper, fold in half, and then cut your holly shape.  Then you can use the first one as a template for the others so that they all look the same.  Turned out pretty slick.

I always love papers that have lots of patterns around the edges, but have a hard time figuring out a way to use them.  This swirl pattern was just perfect for the layout I wanted to make though, and I like how it turned out!

Anyway, hope you enjoyed, and make sure to check out the other layouts at Practical Scrappers today!

Leave a Reply

